Originally, Bernard de Clairvaux, a personality who was influent on the medieval Christian West

« But the more he becomes weak and languishing by the infirmities of his body, the more vigorous and stronger he becomes by the grace which animates his spirit, never stopping to make things deserving of memory, and always crowning his actions which are very important by others even bigger, which all the more deserve to be public and known by being written, as he keeps them secret and hidden by keeping them silent. »
That is the way Guillaume of Saint Thierry said his farewells to Bernard of Clairvaux in the First Life of S. Bernard that he wrote in the second half of the XIIth century.

Bernard de Clairvaux (1090-1153) is certainly the most famous character from the order of Cîteaux, to which he gave all its importance. He came from the Burgundian aristocracy and he was one of the most important men of the XIIth century. First abbot of the monastery of Clairvaux, Bernard was a fertile writer. He left us a rich work composed of several treaties, collections of sermons and a highly enriched correspondence.

Saint Bernard had a double effect. His impulse of foundation allowed Clairvaux to spread out quickly. At the end of the XIIth century, the abbey counted not less than 170 daugther abbeys. Those abbeys were established by monks who came from Clairvaux but also independent abbeys which chose to put themselves under the influence of Clairvaux.

He was also involved in all the big ecclesiastical affairs of his time, as the regulation of papal elections, the protection of orthodoxy, the preaching of the second crusade, the political interventions and diplomatic missions. Beyond the monasticism, Saint Bernard wanted to contribute to the reform of the whole Christendom.

His mystical theology, which was elaborated in the melting pot of the monasticism, deeply influenced all the Christian thought. The library of the abbey is thus just like his founder, the most influential personality of the XIIth century.
He was canonized in 1174.

À l’origine, Bernard de Clairvaux, une personnalité qui rayonna sur l’Occident chrétien médiéval

« Mais plus il devient faible et languissant par les infirmités de son corps, plus il devient fort et vigoureux par la grâce qui anime son esprit, ne cessant jamais de faire des choses dignes de mémoire, et couronnant toujours ses actions qui sont très grandes par d’autres encore plus grandes, qui méritent d’autant plus qu’on les rende publiques et connues en les écrivant, que lui les tient secrètes et cachées en les taisant. »
C’est ainsi que Guillaume de Saint Thierry fait ses adieux à Bernard de Clairvaux dans la Première Vie de Saint Bernard qu’il rédigea dans la seconde moitié du XIIe siècle.

Bernard de Clairvaux (1090-1153) est bien le personnage le plus célèbre de l’ordre de Cîteaux, auquel il donna toute son ampleur ; issu de l’aristocratie bourguignonne, il fut l’un des hommes les plus importants du XIIe siècle. Premier abbé du monastère de Clairvaux, Bernard était un écrivain fécond. Il laisse une œuvre riche de plusieurs traités, recueils de sermons et d’une correspondance très étoffée.

Saint Bernard joua un double rôle ; son impulsion fondatrice permit à Clairvaux d’essaimer rapidement ; à la fin du XIIe siècle, l’abbaye ne comptait pas moins de 170 abbayes filles – des abbayes fondées par des moines issus de Clairvaux et des abbayes indépendantes qui s’étaient mise dans la dépendance de Clairvaux.

Il fut également mêlé à toutes les grandes affaires ecclésiastiques de son temps, entre règlement d’élections papales, sauvegarde de l’orthodoxie, prédication de la deuxième croisade, interventions politiques et missions diplomatiques. Au-delà du monachisme, saint Bernard voulait contribuer à la réforme de la chrétienté toute entière.

Sa théologie mystique, élaborée dans le creuset du monachisme, influença profondément toute la pensée chrétienne. La bibliothèque de l’abbaye est donc à l’image de son fondateur, personnalité la plus influente du XIIe siècle.
Il fut canonisé en 1174