The inventory of 1472, a reference catalogue

For the library of the abbey of Clairvaux, it was the chance to own a complete inventory just before the entrance of printed documents into the collections.
This document, finished in May 1472, is both a title deed, an instrument for the management of the library and a methodical catalogue, where books are distributed according to all the branches of knowledge.

This manuscript of 140 pages is covered with small, abbreviated writing. It describes every manuscript in its material as it would be for an object of the treasure; this description was supposed to identify it, if it was stolen.

The essential element of the description is the statement of the first words of the second page and the last words of the last but one page. This process which was inaugurated in the library of Sorbonne during the XIIIth century became very usual during the XVth century, giving great pleasure to historians. Indeed, the former quotations which had often disappeared, these statements are the most important indication to identify the described works. The writer of the inventory also indicates the size of the volume, its aspect and even the writing.

This catalogue is also an instrument of management for the library as all the manuscripts are registered under their quotations (a letter from A to Z, then a number from 1 to 90). There were also unused quotations which were reserved in anticipation of future acquisitions..
This catalogue was an intellectual construction, which was very well-thought out, as all the manuscripts are distributed to all the branches of knowledge: from the Bible and its comments up to the liturgical books and even the enumeration of the university disciplines. The catalogue is organized into a hierarchy: each of its sections contains subdivisions; it also contains a system of report and constitutes a real help to the reader.

It both brings information concerning the distribution of books (between the two cabinets and the library) in the monastery and on the books’ origins.

This extremely precious instrument also represents an unequalled testimony of the effort of inventory which was led by both of the Cistercians. Clairvaux is participating in a movement. In that way, in 1480, an inventory of the books of the abbey of Cîteaux was realized. Then, the library of the abbey had 1200 manuscripts (including liturgical volumes).

L’inventaire de 1472, un catalogue modèle

C’est une chance de posséder pour la bibliothèque de l’abbaye de Clairvaux un inventaire complet à la veille de l’entrée des imprimés dans les collections.
Ce document, achevé en mai 1472, est à la fois un titre de propriété, un instrument pour la gestion de la bibliothèque et un catalogue méthodique, où les livres sont répartis en fonction de toutes les branches du savoir.

Ce manuscrit de 140 feuillets couvert d’une écriture menue et abrégée décrit chaque manuscrit dans sa matérialité comme le serait un objet du trésor ; ce signalement devait permettre de l’identifier s’il était volé.

L’élément essentiel de la description est le relevé des premiers mots du second feuillet et des derniers mots de l’avant-dernier. Ce procédé inauguré à la bibliothèque de Sorbonne au XIIIe siècle était devenu courant au XVe siècle, pour le grand bonheur des historiens. En effet, les cotes anciennes ayant souvent disparu, ces relevés sont le principal indice pour identifier les ouvrages décrits. Le rédacteur de l’inventaire signale également le format du volume, son aspect, voire l’écriture.

Ce catalogue est aussi un outil de gestion pour la bibliothèque puisque tous les manuscrits y sont enregistrés sous leur cote (une lettre de A à Z, puis un chiffre de 1 à 90). Des cotes d’attente étaient même réservées en prévision des futures acquisitions.
Construction intellectuelle réfléchie, l’ensemble des manuscrits sont répartis dans toutes les branches du savoir : de la Bible et ses commentaires jusqu’aux livres liturgiques en passant par l’énumération des disciplines universitaires. Le catalogue est hiérarchisé : chacune des sections comporte des subdivisions ; il comporte également un système de renvois et constitue en cela une véritable aide au lecteur.

Il apporte à la fois des informations sur la répartition des livres (entre les deux armoires et la bibliothèque) dans le monastère et sur leur provenance.

Cet instrument extrêmement précieux représente également un témoignage inégalé de l’effort d’inventaire qu’entreprirent les cisterciens dans leur ensemble. Clairvaux participe d’un mouvement ; ainsi en 1480, un inventaire des livres de l’abbaye de Cîteaux est réalisé ; la bibliothèque de l’abbaye comprenait alors 1200 manuscrits (volumes liturgiques inclus).